Message sent from:

Jargon Buster

Below you will find some examples of words or acronyms that are used in the school environment and on this website, with an explanation of what they mean.

Academy - a state-funded school independent of local authority control. Academies are self-governing non-profit charitable trusts.

Achievement - Describes both attainment i.e. the level achieved and the progress you have made from a starting point.

AfL - Assessment for Learning - Assessment for Learning is the process of finding and interpreting evidence for use by learners and their teachers, to decide where the learners are at a point in time, where they need to go and how best to get there.

APS – Average Points Score

ARE – Age Related Expectations

ASD - Autism Spectrum Disorder

ASS – Average Scaled Score

Attainment - The actual level attained and/or results.

Attainment Targets - A general defined level of ability that a pupil is expected to achieve in every subject at each key stage in the National Curriculum.

Blending - To draw individual sounds together to pronounce a word, e.g. f-l-a-p, blended together, reads flap

CAF – Common Assessment Form

CEO – Chief Executive Officer

CEOP - Child Exploitation and Online Protection

CiC -Children in Care

CLL - Communication and language

CP - Children on a child protection plan

LAC - Looked After Children

Core Subjects - English, Maths and Science: all pupils must study these subjects up to Key Stage 4

CPD - Continuous Professional Development

DBS - Disclosure & Barring Service - DBS refers to the agency created out of a merger between the Criminal Records Bureau (CRB) and The Independent Safeguarding Authority (ISA).

DfE - Department for Education

Differentiation - a wide variety of teaching techniques and lesson adaptations that teachers use to pupils of differing abilities in the same class.

DSL – Designated Safeguarding Lead

EAL - English as an Additional Language

EBD - Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties

EHC Plan - Educational Health Care Plan - An education, health and care plan is a document that says what support a child or young person who has special educational needs should have.

EYFS – Early Years Foundation Stage. A framework of care and Education for children from birth to five years of age. This stage typically means Nursery and Reception Classes.

FSM - Free School Meals

GD – Greater depth (high score)

GDPR - General Data Protection Regulation

GLD – Good Level of Development is used in nursery and reception to assess children

HMI - Her Majesty’s Inspector of Schools

HT – Headteacher or Half term

Inclusion - Removing barriers in learning so all pupils can participate at their own level.

INSET - In-Service Education and Training - Training for staff which takes place during the school year.

ITT - Initial Teacher Training

Key Stage one – age 5-7 (Years 1 and 2)

Key Stage two – age 7-11(Years 3,4, 5 and 6)

KPI - Key Performance Indicator

LA - Local Authority

LGB – Local Governing Body

LKS2 – Lower Key Stage 2

LTP – Long Term Plan

MAT – Multi Academy Trust

MDA – Midday Assistant

MLD - Moderate Learning Difficulties

MTP – Medium Term Plan

NC - National Curriculum

NSPCC - National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children

NOR - Number on Roll

NPQH - National Professional Qualification for Headship

NQT - Newly Qualified Teacher

Ofsted - Office for Standards in Education

PA – Persistent Absence

PD - Physical Development

PE - Physical Education

Performance Table - Published by the DfE to compare schools' results.

Phonics - Phonics refers to a method for teaching speakers of English to read and write their language

PP – Pupil Premium

PPA - Planning, Preparation and Assessment time to which teachers are entitled.

Progress - this refers to how well pupils have progressed in their learning from their starting point.

PSHE Personal Social Health and Economic education

PFA – Parents and Friends Association

QTS - Qualified Teacher Status

RE - Religious Education

RIDDOR - The Reporting of Injuries, Diseases and Dangerous Occurrences Regulations

RWM – Reading, Writing, Maths scores combined

SATs - Statutory Assessment Tests - National Curriculum Tests and Tasks which take place at the end of Key Stage 1 and at the end of Key Stage 2.

SCR - Single Central Record - Schools must hold a single central record of all adults working with pupils. The records hold security and ID checks among other specific information.

SEF – School Evaluation Form

SEND - Special Educational Needs and Disability

SENDCO - Special Educational Needs and Disability Coordinator

Service - Children whose parents are in military service

SDP - School Development Plan

SIP – School Improvement Partner

SLE - Specialist Leader of Education

SLT - Senior Leadership Team

SMSC - Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (development)

SPAG – Spelling and Grammar

TA - Teaching Assistant

Transition - The movement of pupils from Key Stage to Key Stage or school to school and the procedures associated with it.

UKS2 – Upper Key Stage 2

VLE - Virtual Learning Environment

VRR – Vulnerable risk register (children)

WPAT – Warrington Primary Academy Trust

WTSA – Warrington Teaching School Alliance

Hit enter to search